“I was driving from University at Buffalo North Campus, right in Amherst, all the way to Canandaigua, New York and was pulled over for speeding. I got a ticket for going 100 miles per hour on the I-90 in Ontario County, right outside of Rochester. Should I hire an attorney? One attorney said it would be $425! What should I do?”

images (1)

Based on the information provided, you are charged with driving 35 miles per hour over the speed limit which is an eight point ticket. The consequences of an eight point ticket would not only lead to skyrocketing insurance payments but a number of other fees. If you want to keep your license, over three years, you must pay the New York State Department of Motor Vehicles Driver Responsibility Assessment Fee.  Also, if within an 18 month span you accumulate 11 points, your driver’s license will be suspended. Another point to consider is that if in the past 18 months you have had two speeding tickets, a conviction for a third will result in your license being suspended.

images (3).jpg

In addition to the prospect of your license being suspended, the DMV does maintain records of traffic offenses and a traffic infraction of 5 points or more is considered a “serious” infraction. The result is that the DMV will maintain this infraction on your record for the rest of your life and it could be considered in the future if you are ever charged with another traffic offense.

speeding_lane

Considering the serious consequences, it is very important that you consult a Criminal Defense Attorney. Specifically, make sure the Western New York Criminal Defense Attorney practices where the offense occurred so he or she is well-versed with the local customs. In traffic matters, certain judges may provide harsher rulings for certain offenses. Certain parts of Upstate New York, for example, are known for showing less tolerance with drinking and driving.

Bottom line, although $425 is by no means pocket change, the fines, insurance hikes, court surcharge and DMV Responsibility fee will almost certainly add up to far more than $425. Even if the charge was brought down from driving 100 miles per hour to 80 miles per hour, the result would be 4 less points, you would avoid paying the responsibility fee ($300), and a number of other costs.

For more questions, contact a Buffalo Criminal Defense Lawyer today.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s